Latest from our Travellers

All our clients are invited to post a review so you can get an independent view of the holiday and our services.


97% of our customers rated their holiday Good or Excellent

2106 Total Reviews

Leave a Review
1759
Excellent
287
Good
43
Average
16
Poor
1
Terrible

★ ★ ★ ★ ★
A great hiking adventure in a spectacular landscape
Mount Teide Weekend - Tenerife

Hiking with a great group of people and wonderful guide. Itinerary was well organized. Got a good impression of the island of Teneriffe.

By Konstanze from Upland | 27 February 2017
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Age is no barrier to experiencing the Himalayas
Annapurna in Luxury - Hodgson
Our journey began with a trip to Heathrow then on to Katmandu via Muscat. The plane was delayed due to freezing weather conditions in London and consequently we were delayed arriving in Muscat and missed our connection to Katmandu. We were put on the next flight 5 hours later. This caused a little consternation and we tried to contact the agent in Nepal to advise of our late arrival. It later turns out that I was texting a fax machine! However, we need not have worried as our guide for the next week was patiently waiting for us once we cleared immigration formalities in Nepal. Backing up somewhat, I was somewhat anxious of the arrival procedures for arriving in Katmandu after reading several on line accounts of horrific lines and procedures. In fact all was pretty straightforward and we rapidly found ourselves in the baggage claim area. However, a couple of tips for arriving, number one is download a copy of the visa application form and have it filled in before arriving, number two is make sure you keep a hold of your baggage tags and number three is do not pay for a trolley, they are free. Our guide was waiting patiently with his KE sign and pretty soon we were whisked away to our hotel, The well known Yak and Yeti. Again our guide, Rinzi Sherpa, took care of all formalities and before we knew it we were in our room. However, the day was not over as Rinzi took us out to a nearby restaraunt for dinner. It was quickly apparent that the people were very friendly and courteous and only too willing to help in anyway possible. The next day we were picked up at 8:30,after a filling breakfast in the hotel, and taken to the airport for a domestic flight on Yeti Airlines to Pokhara, the base for our "trek". The flight was only 30 minutes but it afforded wonderful views of the high Himalayan ranges. Rinzi had already arranged for us to sit on the right of the plane to get the best views. This was typical of the man, always striving to ensure we enjoyed the best of experiences. On arrival in Pokhara we were again transferred to another lovely hotel, The Atithi. After a quick lunch we were off into town and a trip to the Peace Stupa on the opposite side of the lake on which Pokhara stands. In the evening we had dinner on the lakeside and this was our first encounter with Dahl Bat. Undoubtedly one of the culinary highlights of a Nepal trip, I quickly found out that the secret to eating this local dish is not to eat everything offered to you but be selective, which unfortunately I did not work out until about the fifth time of asking. There is nothing wrong with the food just the volume! The next morning was our first serious encounter with the local driving. The trip on a mini bus to our first trekking point up the valley of the Modi Kola was interesting but after an hours drive we arrived at our start point and away we went on a 6 km walk. This started 4 days of wonderful walking in lush valleys and forests, climbing ancient stone steps and visiting friendly rustic villages of local Gurum people. To cap each day we stopped at beautiful "luxury" lodges where wonderful food was served by exemplary staff, who just could not do enough for us. As the sun went down and temperatures dropped it was an absolute delight to savour the local brew, either Gurkha or Everest beer, both of which can be highly recommended. The only problem with the trekking was the fact that it was over so quickly. Before we knew it we were back at the airport in Katmandu waiting for our transfer to Baratpur and our journey out to the Chitwan National park. Yet again our hosts were magnificent and our accommodation was luxurious in every sense. On arrival we were quickly given our activity itinerary and before we knew it we were walking with elephants in the national park "buffer" zone, and we quickly had an unforgettable experience when we came face to face with two rhinoceroses! Next morning we had a sail down the local river which was quite every as the mist rolled over it and crocodiles slithered into the murky depths. Yep, another memorable experience but more was still to follow when we entered the national park proper for a jeep safari in search of tigers! However, the tigers remained hidden, but Danny our experience guide showed us evidence of their presence in the form of deep scratches on trees and tracks imprinted on the soft sand. However, there was still plenty of wildlife to enjoy and the highlight was the spotting of two elusive Indian bison. Again this was over too quickly and before we knew it we were back in Katmandu and on our way home. All in all it was a wonderful trip to an amazing country full of friendly, courteous people. OK, there are issues but once you've got through the hustle and bustle of the big city the charms are endless. There are problems but my only suggestions for the trip are really only logistical. Number one is that for the transfer between Chitwan and the airport the vehicle should be of a better vintage with proper seat belts. For the journey in misty, murky conditions along a very busy road we were totally reliant on the driver who did a great job bobbing and weaving through all sorts of other road users as they appeared through the mist. Secondly, I would suggest that a day room is made available for guests transiting back to Katmandu who arrive in late morning, early afternoon who have to wait for evening flights out of Nepal. However, all in all I can only praise all those involved in providing this wonderful adventure. Especially I would like to praise Rinzi, our porter Mattbad and Danny our wildlife guide down at Tiger Tops. Would we do it again.........dam right we would.
By Ian from Penrith | 23 February 2017
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
A challenging high winter peak :guides enabled whole group to summit .Safe!
Mount Toubkal in Winter

5 full days of challenging winter walking. Excellent guidance on use of Ice axe and crampons. Perfect pace for those of us that got puffed out- due to altitude. Use of zig zags up steep snow really helped to keep a positive outlook- we could and did keep moving! And being able to slide some of the way back down was great.-and properly supervised. Fantastic mountain scenery- that part is not to KE`s credit- but never mind!

By Nicola from Edinburgh | 23 February 2017
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
An excellent winter trip
Bulgarian Snowshoe Adventure
Very good local leader (Ivor). Good accommodation and food throughout. We were blessed by outstanding weather and conditions. Thoroughly recommended. Improvements: a group of 12 needs more than one leader. If anything had gone wrong, (eg, a fall) then there is no way one leader could have dealt with it alone, however competent. This is an accident waiting to happen. I would like KE's thoughts on this. Recommendations: advise that on arrival local currency must be purchased in Sofia, where t here is a currency exchange in the airport and lots of ATM's near the hotel. Once away from Sofia there is nothing. (my advice would be about £100) Advise on the recommended tip for leader and driver. Also need to add that our driver for the week was also excellent. Advise to take swimwear for jacuzzi/sauna at the accommodation.
By Ian from Huddersfield | 23 February 2017

KE Adventure reply

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday. In answer to your query: Should an accident have occurred, help was always a phone call away. There is good mobile signal throughout the Vitosha National Park and in the Rila mountains. There are excellent mountain rescue services in this area and a casualty would be evacuated very quickly by the rescue teams, either by skidoo or helicopter depending on the location and severity of the accident. The response to a serious injury would be the same irrespective of the number of leaders. Thank you also for your tips on changing money.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Amazing Kiruna, recommended
Sweden Arctic Family Adventure
Myself and my family (wife and two kids 13 & 11) Just got back from 5 nights in Kiruna, right at the top of Sweden, what an amazing trip! From the first enquire to KE they were everything you want from a tour company, so helpful and very patient with a nervous traveller, the best customer service I have come across in a very long time. Everything on the trip went to plan, cross country skiing, dog sled, Ice Hotel, Snow shoeing and of course Snowmobiles. Sufficient time set a side to reco ver, a very good balance. The hotel is excellent, amazing (posh) food, great service. A few things worth knowing, the town centre of Kiruna is bleak and not worth a visit, wine and beer prices are off the scale and the lodges could do with a lot more storage. Book this trip now, you will not be disappointed, recommended...
By Mark from SUNBURY-ON-THAMES | 23 February 2017
Kiruna, wonderland
Sweden Arctic Family Adventure

Review Image
Review Image
Review Image
Review Image
Review Image
View all (19)
By Mark from SUNBURY-ON-THAMES | 23 February 2017
★ ★ ★ ★
A varied and interesting holiday
Walking Undiscovered Tenerife and Pico Teide
This was a good holiday, although we were all rather taken aback by how cold it was at times, but I guess it was February! We all made the summit of El Teide, and returned safely, but our descent would have been much easier had we been carrying crampons, or even microspikes which weigh little, since the path became quite icy, probably because the snow was melted by the sun and then promptly froze in the low air temperature. It was a holiday of contrasts, the rocky volcanic terrain followed by lu sh vegetation and coastal scenery. Our guides Cao and Aaron were very enthusiastic and knowledgeable re Tenerife, and could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble
By Maureen from Glasgow | 22 February 2017
★ ★ ★
More challenging than expected!
Morocco - Ride the Kasbah
As a beginner mountain biker I found the first day of this trip very challenging, and the leader unfortunately didn't offer much in the way of support. The subsequent days were a bit easier, but quite long, so be prepared. The final two rides were a bit dull/easy by comparison. Breaking people in a bit more gently would be a better idea, as well as ensuring a bit more consistency in terms of difficulty level during the week. The hotels were more comfortable than expected (we had hot water m ost of the time), although it was quite cold at night in February so do take warm layers and be prepared for hard beds. There are no kettles in the rooms so you might want to take your own, and there are only hairdryers in Marrakech. Plug sockets are usually in short supply. The Marrakech is billed as being in the city centre, but that's really not true as it takes 45 minutes to walk to the main square. The location is terrible and it's huge and impersonal - I can only imagine that it was chosen for low cost. Picnic lunches on cycling days were OK (although rather protein-deficient for vegetarians). All other meals were in the hotels, except for the last night. The quality was variable - some of it was incredibly bland, again with not much in the way of protein for vegetarians. You don't get a choice of food so it helps if you're not fussy. Breakfasts are carb-heavy (bread and pancakes mostly, with eggs) so I was glad that I took my own muesli. Fruit seems to be for dessert only, so if you like fruit for breakfast you need to buy your own. There is no alcohol at any of the hotels except for one, but you can buy beer or wine for the week if you want it. The restaurant that we stopped at on the last night on the way back to Marrakech was frankly awful. It was basically a truck stop. Usually the last night meal is a celebratory event, but this was a total anti-climax. I think most people would rather have left the mountains a bit earlier and had a proper dinner back in Marrakech. One of my main disappointments with this trip was the leader. He had no sense of humour, barely ever cracked a smile, and didn't want to engage with us. He only sat with us for meals if the drivers were not there. At the end he couldn't wait to get away - he dumped us at the hotel, took his tip (without a thank you) and ran. Given that we hadn't caused him any difficulties during the week it was hard to understand his surly attitude. Having travelled with many other adventure tour companies previously, this wasn't a good first experience with KE.
By Lindsey from London | 21 February 2017

KE Adventure reply

Thank you for your review. Our ‘Ride the Kasbah’ is really suitable for regular weekend bikers rather than beginners so we think you did well to complete the ride. It's an itinerary we have run for over 10 years and we feel the first days ride out of the Todra Gorge is an unmissable highlight. The support vehicles are always there to provide a transfer if necessary. We are pleased that you found the hotels to be more comfortable than you expected. The hotel we use in Marrakech is centrally located (it is right beside the wall of the Old City) and we feel is convenient, both for the Djema el Fna (which is 20 minutes’ walk away) and the bike hire shop. We are sorry that you felt the breakfasts provided by the hotels were ‘carb-heavy’, although we would observe that this is exactly what most bikers require to ‘fuel up’ for a challenging day’s riding. The picnic lunches we provide consist of a buffet of rice, pasta or cous cous, with a freshly prepared salad - onion, tomatoes, green peppers, grated carrot, green beans, with tinned sweetcorn or peas added. There will usually also be a selection of hard and soft cheeses, tinned fish, olives, biscuits and bread. Evening meals provided by the hotel are three course beginning with soup and bread. Often the main course is the famous Moroccan tagine (vegetable stew) which will vary greatly in flavour depending on the spices and vegetables used and vegetarians are well catered for in Morocco. We were quite surprised at your impression of your leader who has led numerous biking and trekking trips for KE. Until now, he has received only excellent feedback from KE clients and we are sorry that you did not find him engaging. We do appreciate all your comments and will feed these back to your guide and our local agent.

★ ★ ★ ★
A good 2 weeks with much variety and lots to see.
Temples and Trails of Burma
A very packed program of events with our small group headed by Joe - our Myanmar guide. He was always one step ahead, very attentive, and phoning the various agencies to smooth our way - including confirmation of hotel bookings, restaurant reservations and internal flights. The trip notes went true to form and offered the best this formerly secretive country had to offer. The people and the religious structures offered the very best sights to see and the weather was glorious throughout our Janua ry/February trip. The overnights in hotels were of an exceptionally high standard in some very scenic locations. The trekking phase gave a great opportunity to meet the real tribes-people of Myanmar - and the monastery overnight stays were basic but very acceptable. Astonishingly - some group members expected facilities to charge kindles and other such electronic devices in the monastery accommodation, and were disappointed when these assets were not available. The ethos of staying in these remote places is to get away from such '21st century' living and resort to basics. For the 3 nights of monastery stays though - I would recommend a Thermarest sleeping mat to reinforce the thin mattress that is supplied. The high points for me were the stupa garden at Kakka and the breathtaking temples of Bagan – an incredible group of hundreds of Buddhist temples on a vast plain. The cuisine on the trip was among the most varied I have experienced; with influence from Indian, Chinese, Thai and of course – very unique Burmese fare. I will say that your 1st world digestive system has to be prepared for some very spicy culinary dishes (if desired) and the Shan breakfast including noodles has to be experienced! The only real minor point we all had was there was on many days too much food! Many felt a little guilty that we were not able to fully finish the heaps of gorgeous food the tour staff plied us with! A recommended trip - and well done Joe. If you do no other trip in your life – DO this one!
By Laurence from Congleton | 20 February 2017
★ ★ ★ ★
well organised and adventurous
Arctic Wilderness Week Finland

Setting was great and well organised. Meal service in hotel was very slow. There was too much free time in the schedule (two half-days and one full day) and the snow mobiling was less than two hours because of time taken for getting clothing, orientation and a 45 minute stop for tea and a bun. The dog sleading with the overnight stop was by far the highlight of the holiday. Randal Metzger

By Randal from Otley | 20 February 2017

KE Adventure reply

Thank you for your review Randal. We always take note of what our clients have to say about their holiday experience. Our Arctic Wilderness itinerary has been refined over many years to take into account the majority preference of our clients. There are many varied activity options available at Iso Syote and by popular demand, we include the free day and two free afternoons to allow our clients to choose the activities they most prefer. It is also possible to arrange more snow mobiling or husky sledding on the free day. Full details are given in the holiday itinerary. Our office staff here who have been on this holiday agree with you that the 2 day husky safari is a real highlight of the trip.

★ ★ ★
Weather ruined what should have been a great week`s walking.
Levada Trails and Peaks of Madeira
Although the accommodation, meals and other logistics were good the trip was dogged by poor weather and by some of the levada paths being closed. I was led to believe that Madeira enjoyed good weather with some odd rainy days in February but we had 3.5 days of heavy rain/showers and high winds which ruled out many of the more attractive walks on the programme. Our guide was excellent in finding other routes for us to do and was a really great guy; however I felt he was a little cautious in turni ng back on a couple of the walks, especially as ill-equipped tourists pressed on and evidently had no problems other than getting wet. However Madeira is a lovely place, well worth a visit and I will go back to complete the walks we didn`t do, albeit by myself/with friends rather than an organised trip.
By Stephen from Stockport | 17 February 2017

KE Adventure reply

Thank you for your review and we were sorry to hear about the weather during your trip. You were right to expect good weather and just the odd rainy day, which would be typical for February in Madeira. Unfortunately your group experienced a period of exceptionally stormy weather with heavy rain and strong winds. You were very unlucky, but it is good to know you think Madeira is a lovely place and that you intend to return. There are many advantages of travelling on an organised trip with KE, including financial security, assured quality of accommodation, meals and other logistics and, crucially, expert guiding.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★
A great chance to see the Black Forest on skis!
Highlights of the Black Forest Ski Traverse
We were lucky as it had rained heavily the week before we arrived but we still managed some great cross country skiing. Julia, our guide, was most attentive and managed to maximise the skiing experience and even managed some helpful tips to improve our technique! We could not do the whole traverse because of the rain which had melted the low lying snow but the last two days were as per the itinerary. The Hotels were all clean, had comfy beds and were characterful. It was great to have our bags ( which had been moved on during the day) waiting for us at the end of the day. I would thoroughly recommend this trip.
By John from Huntingdon | 15 February 2017
Torres del Paine, El calafate and Fitzroy
Spires and Ice - Trekking Patagonia

Review Image
Review Image
Review Image
Review Image
Review Image
View all (50)
By John from Normanton | 15 February 2017
★ ★ ★ ★
A very full package
Kerala and the Cardamom Hills
Let me start by writing that this was a super trip and that we enjoyed it. However, to help others I will comment that there were a few things we didn't expect. First, remember it's India. "Events" happen. Our trek itinerary had to be adjusted because there was a jeep driver strike and one of the planned overnight stops was inaccessible. No great problem, and the local agent dealt with it well, but slightly confusing. Second, it is a trip of two halves. The second half has a lot of road transfers. It may be that in the right conditions the transfers will be under 4 hours - but the right conditions don't always occur. We tended to find that we had a prompt departure from one hotel to arrive just in time for lunch at the next one. It feels like a lot of time in a bus. Lots to see as you go along, and some spectacular roads - but it's still quite a long time in a bus. Third, we did have one surprisingly cold night on the trek. No frost or snow or anything like that but everyone was wearing just aboiut every layer they could - this was in the first half of November, and just one night. Fourth, the trekking days didn't feel particularly demanding. I claim no expertise in assessing the grading but this felt fairly gentle. Finally, since the trip notes don't mention the leeches, I won't either. In summary, a super trip. If you are thinking about it, do it.
By David from Hexham | 14 February 2017
★ ★ ★ ★
A beautiful surprise
Morocco - Ride the Kasbah

The first 3 days of cycling the landscape is at times breathtakingly wild and beautiful. The first three days are rather challenging. If you bike a local bike you have to make a deposit of at least 600 EUR So Have enough money on your credit card.

By Bostjan from Brussels | 14 February 2017
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Spectacular vistas
Kangchenjunga Trek
I booked the Kanchenjunga trek tour at the recommendation of the UK tour leader for the Dolpo trek which I had done the previous year. Kanchenjunga exceeded all expectations. I've been eye level with glaciers before, but this time I got to stand on the edge of a sea of ice stretching as far as the eye could see. The forces of Nature were on full display, and it was evident no technology could ever tame them. Spectacular! The strenuous grading is very appropriate, but perhaps not for the rea sons you expect. At lower altitudes, the trail crossed multiple ridgelines. Our cumulative ascents and descents-- mostly on rough rock steps-- were huge. One day I measured 1400 meters cumulative up. At higher altitudes, the trail mostly followed river valleys. The gradients were modest, but we encountered numerous landslides. How shall I put this. Some required great care to cross safely. Fit hikers with prior Himalayan experience are sure to enjoy the beauty, variety, and challenges of this trek. Adventurous but less experienced hikers may want to warm up with another trek (Manaslu Circuit, for example), before contemplating Kanchenjunga. Several notes may be helpful: (a) I used the KE sleeping bag and down jacket. Both were in excellent condition and very warm. Highly recommended. (b) Leaving Laslya Bhanyang (Day 7 AM) it is necessary to skirt a massive landslide. See photo in my gallery. The makeshift uphill trail we used had fissures in it and was not for the faint of heart. The downhill trail was exceedingly steep. (c) For some reason, the brochure describes hiking the southern approach only as far as Ramche. You have no view from there whatsoever. The usual viewpoint is a Limbu shrine "Oktang" some two hours beyond Ramche. Ten of twelve in my party went as far as Oktang. It made for a very long day trip from Tseram (we did not arrive back in camp until dusk) but it was well, well worth the effort. Do ask your tour leader. Go for it if you can. (d) One more thing ... The guesthouse at Suketar airport has excellent tongba. Can't forget that!!
By Anthony from HAVERHILL | 13 February 2017
★ ★
Disappointing, our expectations as outlined in dossier were not met
Kerala and the Cardamom Hills
Some really enjoyable places & experiences spoilt by too much time on the road travelling leaving some of the highlights including Periyar reserve & the backwater cruising either curtailed or feeling rushed. We went out 2 days before the group to Fort Cochin, in hindsight a "must" so there is time to relax after the flight & get into the mellow Kerala scene. Cardamom Hills offer some good relaxing walking with amazing sunrises & sunsets. However if you h ave some heavy rain as we had do not be surprised if you have a mini river running through your tent; we did. Don't get too excited about the beach R&R at the end of the trip. Safe swimming options in the warm Arabian Sea are limited, great if you find them but need to take great care with the steep beaches & strong undertow. Overall disappointed with the trip & would not recommend incurrent form.
By John from Telford | 13 February 2017

KE Adventure reply

Thank you for your review. Your group was very unlucky as heavy rain in Kerala is extremely unusual at this time of the year. We have been running this trip for the last ten years and your experience is in stark contrast to the majority of reviews for this holiday. As you know from our private correspondence with you, we have been in touch with the whole group about their experience. We are pleased that despite the unseasonable weather and the disruption to your itinerary caused by the other factors beyond our control (e.g. wild elephants), you had some really enjoyable experiences with good relaxing walking.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Yet another fantastic KE adventure
Patagonia - The Classic Paine Circuit
It is difficult to add to the positive views expressed already by other people on this trip. In particular I would entirely endorse and re emphasise the comments made by Edward. Pam and I had a truly great time with the outstanding trekking being enhanced by a cohesive and friendly group and two simply outstanding leaders. The contributions of Danny and Francisco can not be overstated whether in relation to "normal" trekking issues or the perhaps more esoteric matters surrounding flora and fauna. Their knowledge was imparted in an incredibly enthusiastic and friendly manner....nothing was too much trouble. Any request was dealt with positively...."Why not.....it's Patagonia!!" A few of us did the extension to Fitzroy. As we sat at the edge of a flat calm lake looking at the Fitzroy massif under a clear blue sky we reflected that we were truly the lucky group. Unreservedly recommended
By John from Hawick | 13 February 2017
★ ★ ★
Superb biking in great surroundings
Morocco - Ride the Kasbah
For the 1st time on KE I used a local hire bike and am glad I did. The bike (Cannonade Trail 3 Hardtail) was perfect for me for this ride of mixed terrain and trails. Day 1 is the hardest of the days in terms of the ride challenge, with some good technical challenge riding in a river bed and long climbs, with rewarding descents (a little sketchy in places). Food and accommodation was also good throughout. The very 1st day is a transfer and that is a long day with transfer from Marrakech to that night's hotel taking 9 hours, leaving no time for said 'optional ride'....but through good and varied scenery. The final day's ride is a short ride (30km or so) through the Draa Valley. The ride itself offers little and is really just a break up of the day's long drive. Personally I would have preferred to use the time to explore Zagora and have a chill out morning, or to get back to Marrakech earlier, as that last day ride was not worth the effort. In summary - this trip is well organised and almost military in its execution by our guide, Hammed but you only get 4 days of decent riding out of it. Those 4 days were superb rides and each different from the previous day and all providing a great mix pf challenging hills to rewarding desserts, include a superb 10km descent. Day 5's ride was a little 'functional' and (in my view) served little more than to break up the long return to Marrakech.
By David from Strathcarron | 13 February 2017
Walking the White Mountains of Crete - October 2016
Walking the White Mountains of Crete

Review Image
Review Image
Review Image
Review Image
Review Image
View all (34)
By Rory from London | 13 February 2017
Footer logos
Your Wishlist
No Wishlist Items

Start your next adventure.

Click the heart icon on the search or holiday pages to save a holiday to your wishlist.

Holiday Search